Dachstein Spürsinn Review

Gear Review: Dachstein Spürsinn MC

Those boots! I saw them online and I thought: this is the MY pair of hiking boots. They are…

  • … mid height
  • … light
  • … made in Austria by people who know their artisanry
  • The Design is – in my opinion – outstanding, compared to all those insect-like colored trail and hiking boots
  • Their USP says that they have an outstanding underfoot feeling (and I just hate if my soles are so stiff that I can’t feel the ground anymore)

Unfortunately I can’t give a full evaluation of the boots because I only wore them for about 1 km and I quickly recognized, that they are to small for me. So here are my 5 cents:

  • They look great
  • The sole is stable and has an excellent grip (I didn’t walk on wet ground though)
  • My size is 39,5 and I chose the 41. This is still not enough. I have to say that I put my orthopedic insoles inside and they are slightly thicker than the original ortholite insoles. My toes touched the top even without walking.
  • They are not comfortable. This means: the sole is comfortable, but the top isn’t. Even in wearing them so shortly I already discovered some slight bruises. And this was the most disappointing thing for me because they looked so much like the perfect shoes! So maybe they need a long break-in, I just didn’t try it long enough.

Finally I sent them back – teary-eyed.

Data Dachstein Spürsinn MC:

 kind of shoe Mid-height Hiking Boot
top mesh & leather
sole Vibram
price 179 €
drop 9 mm
break-in can’t tell
weight/pair
(size 41)
751 g
waterproof No
marketing promises Perfect mix between approach shoes and trail runners. Very good underfoot feeling.

Evaluation Dachstein Spürsinn MC:

tested for 1 km
foot climate ***** (did not test it long enough)
grip *****
stability (sole) *****
stability (top) *****
protection *****
comfort *****
durability ***** (did not test it long enough)
toebox normal width & rather round

Leave a Reply

