Gear Review: Lowa Wendelstein

There is always this possibility that I’ll find the perfect shoes!
With this mantra I went into shoe shopping again and I had some conditions in advance: I was at the research for light (yeah, not ultralight) boots because I had this not so good experience last year in the mountains with my trail runners and I wanted leather boots because it’s comfy and I’m still convinced that leather is giving me the best foot climate. And I don’t want to look on my feet all the time and be over-careful. That’s my reason for boots.

I have a two-weeks through-hike in spain ahead of me and I want to be sure to choose wisely.

The Lowa Wendelstein are …

  • … very light for a leather boot (1031g/pair/41)
  • … rather narrow and with that they should have been perfect for my narrow foot
  • … beautiful. With their proportions, the brown leather and the red shoelaces they look just like my imagination of classic hiking boots grandpa style.
  • … made in Germany
  • … a wonderful piece of craftsmanship
  • The sole is rather stiff and the cushioning is less than average.
  • The sole has an excellent grip.
  • My size is 40 and I chose the 41. I put my orthopedic insoles inside and they are slightly thicker than the original soft leather surfaced insoles. My toes have enough space on the top and in the front.
  • The break-in is very long.

Finally I decided to go with my La Sportiva Core Highs (and get to know the Lowas better when I come back) because of trust issues:

  • I’m not sure how long the break-in will take. Until this moment I have the problem of a very aching little toe after 15 kms. But I think this will be better when the leather gets smoother with time.  I don’t want to risk Cinderella-like foot pain.
  • and because of better cushioning

 

Data Lowa Wendelstein:

 kind of shoe mid-height leather hiking boot
top full leather, interior leather
sole Vibram
price 210 €
drop ?
break-in Very long, haven’t finished yet
weight/pair
(size 41)
1031 g
waterproof If you grease them well
marketing promises Perfect mix between traditional craftsmanship and Innovation

Evaluation Lowa Wendelstein:

tested for 50 km
foot climate *****
grip *****
stability (sole) *****
stability (top) *****
protection *****
comfort *****
cushioning *****
durability *****
(seams great, but I did not test it long enough)
toebox normal to narrow width

2 thoughts on “Gear Review: Lowa Wendelstein

Leave a Reply

