GR 249 Gran Senda de Málaga, Periana – Pulgarin Alto

HYOH!

Yeah! This stage of the Gran Senda matched perfectly with my current status. My office legs hurt like hell and my feet are just getting used to work and walk. I choose the Gran Senda because I didn’t wanted to struggle again with horrendous climbs and crushed rock all day long like on the GR 221. I just want to walk! On the other hand: I love to be in the mountains. Why can’t I have both? With this in mind I skipped the mountain stages and went directly to Periana. And it was a very good decision.



Caminante que caminas detente y mira como pasa la vida (Wanderer, halte an und sieh wie das Leben geschieht)

It was a buzzing stage. Everywhere around me where bees, butterflies and other strange insects. I saw horses, sheep, goats, millions of different birds, squirrels, mice and lizards. And flowers! Spring kicked in like if there were a crazy beauty contest.


The hike


Compared to Nerja-Frigiliana it’s a very comfortable stage. Mostly dirtroads and even a village with a restaurant in the middle. If it’s like today 28C the only thing my thing missing is shadow. There is water to buy in Guaro, in Cortijo de Zapata you’ll find an outdoor tap and several other springs, at least there was plenty of water when I passed today.

At the house of Mirador del Tramo I was stopped by three dogs. I consider myself a dog whisperer but one of them went more and more crazy and I wasn’t able to calm him down. He finally bared his teeth so badly that I decided to take a walk around. Some 50 meters from the house and parallel to the trail there are some olive tree fields which are easy to cross and around 300 meters later I was able to join the trail again.

IMG_3809IMG_3807IMG_3806IMG_3804IMG_3836IMG_3803IMG_3814

2 thoughts on “GR 249 Gran Senda de Málaga, Periana – Pulgarin Alto

Leave a Reply

